The INternational CongRess on Engineering and Sustainability in the XXI cEntury – INCREaSE 2017, occurred in October 11-13, 2017, in the coastal historical city of Faro, Algarve, Portugal, at the Institute of Engineering, University of Algarve, Penha Campus.


Conference Topics

The aim of the INCREaSE 2017 internacional congress was to contribute to sustainable development in a multidisciplinary way, exploring the following transversal challenges:

  • Natural and Anthropogenic Risks
  • Tourism and Sustainability
  • Healthy Food
  • Water and Society
  • Sustainable Mobility
  • Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency
  • Other subjects related to the sustainable development objectives

To achieve this, the event gathers different engineering areas listed below together with topics considered relevant:

Civil Engineering:

  • Construction, Maintenance and Rehabilitation of Buildings and Infrastructures
  • Sustainable Planning and Construction

Electronics Engineering:

  • Information and Communication Technology
  • Power Systems and Power Electronics
  • Electronics and Computer Systems
  • Telecommunications and Networks

Food Engineering:

  • Mediterranean Diet
  • Emerging processes, products and packaging in the food industry
  • Food Safety
  • Valorization of by-products from food industries

Mechanical Engineering:

  • Environmental Fluid Mechanics
  • Air Conditioning and Refrigeration
  • Maintenance Management

Invited Speakers

The Invited Speakers were:

  • Andrew Patton McCoy – Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University
  • Cristina Silva – ESB/Universidade Católica Portuguesa & International Journal of Food Studies
  • Jorge de Brito – Instituto Superior Técnico, Universidade de Lisboa
  • Katherine Mary Flynn – The European Association for Food Safety – SAFE consortium
  • Marc Hilbert – Volkswagen AG
  • Marco Ottavi – University of Rome Tor Vergata
  • Mariana Golumbeanu – Balkan Environmental Association (BENA)
  • Committees

    Coordinating Committee

  • António Mortal – Director of Institute of Engineering (ISE), University of Algarve (UAlg)
  • Manuela Moreira da Silva – President of the Technical-Scientific Council of the Institute of Engineering (ISE), University of Algarve (UAlg)


    Honorary Committee

    António Branco – Rector, University of Algarve


    António Raposo de Lima – IBM Portugal

    António Tadeu – ITeCons

    Carlos Mineiro Aires – Ordem dos Engenheiros

    Desidério Silva – RTA

    Francisco Serra –  CCDR Algarve

    João Guerreiro – CRIA, UAlg

    Joaquim Peres – Águas do Algarve, SA

    José Rui Felizardo – CEiiA

    Luciano Lourenço – RISCOS

    Luís Chícharo – ICCE-UNESCO

    Maria João Bebianno – CIMA

    Rogério Bacalhau – Câmara Municipal de Faro

    Sebastião Teixeira – Agência Portuguesa do Ambiente IP – ARH do Algarve

    Vitor Aleixo – AREAL


    Organizing Committee

    Augusto Candeias – ISE/UAlg

    Cláudia Sequeira – ISE/UAlg

    Francisco Calhau – ISE/UAlg

    Ilídio Mestre – ISE/UAlg

    Isabel Ratão – ISE/UAlg

    Isménio Martins – ISE/UAlg

    Jaime Aníbal – ISE/UAlg

    Jânio Monteiro – ISE/UAlg

    Jorge Semião – ISE/UAlg

    Miguel Oliveira – ISE/UAlg

    Paulo Santos – ISE/UAlg

    André Botelheiro – Director of Communication Office, UAlg

    Ana Paula Ferreira – Director of Technical Services, UAlg


    Scientific Committee

    Ana Cristina Figueira – ISE/UAlg & CIEO

    Ana Isabel Renda –  ESGHT/UAlg

    Anabela Rebelo – Agência Portuguesa do Ambiente

    Andrew Patton McCoy – Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University

    Antonio Javier Barragán Piña – Universidad de Huelva

    António Martins – Águas do Algarve / Grupo Águas de Portugal

    António Silva – ISE/UAlg & CIMA

    Arnaldo Carneiro – Universidade Federal de Pernambuco

    Carla Antunes – FCT/UAlg & MeditBio

    Celestino Ruivo – ISE/UAlg

    Célia Quintas – ISE/UAlg & MeditBio

    Cláudia Almeida – ESGHT/UAlg

    Cristina Silva – ESB/Universidade Católica Portuguesa

    Cristiano Cabrita – ISE/UAlg

    Duarte Nuno Duarte – FCT/UAlg & CIMA

    Eduardo Gorbeña – UAlg & CIMA

    Eduardo Esteves – ISE/UAlg & CCMAR

    Eladio Durán Aranda – Universidad de Huelva

    Elisa Silva – ISE/UAlg & CEPAC

    Fátima Farinha – ISE/UAlg & CERIS

    Fernando Alves da Silva – INESC-ID

    Flávio Martins – ISE/UAlg & CIMA

    Gabriela Schutz – ISE/UAlg & CEOT

    Gil Fraqueza – ISE/UAlg & CCMAR

    Gonçalo Prates – UAlg

    Gustavo Nolasco – FCT/UAlg & MeditBio

    Helena Fernandez – ISE/UAlg & CIEO

    Ivo Martins – ISE/UAlg

    Jeff Camkin –  CENRM & University of Western Australia

    Jessie Melo – ISE/UAlg & MeditBio

    João Estêvão – ISE/UAlg & CIMA

    João Gomes – ISE/UAlg

    João Paulo Teixeira – INESC-ID

    João Rodrigues – LARSyS/UAlg

    João Santana – IST & INESC-ID

    Jorge de Brito – IST

    Jorge Isidoro – ISE/UAlg

    Jorge Pereira – ISE/UAlg & MeditBio

    José António Monteiro – FCT/UAlg & CEPAC

    José Bastos – FCT/UAlg

    José Gonçalves – ISE/UAlg

    José Luís Estrelo Gomes de Sousa – ESTS/IPS

    Juan Manuel Enrique Gomez – Universidad de Huelva

    Katherine Mary Flynn – The European Association for Food Safety – SAFE consortium

    Ludovina Galego – ISE/UAlg & MeditBio

    Luís Oliveira – ISE/UAlg

    Manuela Rosa – ISE/UAlg & CIEO

    Marc Hilbert – Volkswagen AG

    Marco Ottavi – University of Rome Tor Vergata

    Margarida Vieira – ISE/UAlg & ISEKI Food Association

    Maria de Belém Costa Freitas – FCT/UAlg & MeditBio

    Maria Natividade Vieira – Faculdade de Ciências/ Universidade do Porto & CIIMAR

    Mário Serafim Nunes – INESC Inovação

    Mariana Golumbeanu – Balkan Environmental Association (BENA)

    Mauro Figueiredo – ISE/UAlg & CIMA/CIAC

    Nelson Sousa – ISE/UAlg

    Patrícia Nunes – ISE/UAlg & MeditBio

    Paula Cabral – ISE/UAlg & MeditBio

    Paula Correia – IPV/CI&DETS

    Paula Laurêncio – ISE/UAlg

    Paulo Felisberto – ISE/UAlg & LARSyS

    Paulo Relva – FCT/UAlg & CCMAR

    Paulo Silva – ISE/UAlg

    Pedro Cardoso – LARSyS/UAlg

    Peter Schmid – Eindhoven University of Technology

    Rafaela Matos – LNEC

    Raúl Barros – FCT/UAlg & CIMA

    Roberto Lam – ISE/UAlg

    Roberto Quental Coutinho – Universidade Federal de Pernambuco/GEGEPE

    Rui Costa – ISE/UAlg & ICIST

    Rui Cruz – ISE/UAlg & MeditBio

    Rui Guerra – FCT/UAlg & CEOT

    Rui Lança – ISE/UAlg

    Sara Raposo – FCT/UAlg & CIMA

    Sérgio Manuel Machado Jesus – FCT/UAlg & LARSyS

    Sofiane Ahmed Ali – ESIGELEC

    Susana Neto – IST & CERIS

    Tiago Silva – FCT/Universidade Nova de Lisboa

    Tomás Figueiredo – Instituto Politécnico de Bragança & CIMO

    Vasco Peixoto de Freitas – Faculdade de Engenharia, Universidade do Porto

    Program and Proceedings

    The final and detailed version version of the technical program is available in the following PDF FILE.

    The Book of Proceedings of the 1st International Congress on Engineering and Sustainability in the XXI Century - INCREaSE 2017 is available in Springer.


    We are very pleased to announce the below sponsors and supporting entities.

    Thanks to all the financial and institutional support given, this will be a very successful congress.









    With the participation of


















    Horta Salgada by MudSecrets